Dr. sayed ALi Chief. Dep. Word

Chemical Engineering Department

It is an engineering branch in which physical sciences, applied mathematics, and economics are combined together to design, operate, maintain, and revamp processes. Experiments done in the lab or in small scale pilots needs chemical engineering to be developed and to be applied in large scale industries.

Chemical Engineers:

Chemical engineers are responsible for designing processes from scratches, they are also operating the process in any factory, and making sure that it is achieving the highest possible efficiency. Chemical engineers can maintain and revamp a processes to make it more economical.

Oil and Gas industries needs chemical engineers to deal with the crude oil, so they can separate it from contaminants, then, convert it to light and heavy fractions and then use several processes to get the final end use product from each fraction. Chemical engineers can design the whole process for any chemical plant, not only that but they know how to maximize the profit and minimize the raw material and energy consumption.

Water treatment plants needs chemical engineers to design, operate, and maintain the whole plant. Water treatment projects can vary from surface and subsurface water treatment to sewage treatment, and the product from these plants can be used for irrigation or for human consumption.

Green Process engineering is a new trend in Engineering in which chemical engineers have to take into consideration the environmental impact of the processes in different factories, and redesign the processes, choose different raw material or reagents used in the process to minimize the effect on our mother nature.

Chemical Engineers can work in nearly every sector in the world, their knowledge can be used in any branch, aerospace, biomedical, environmental and military industries are some examples of other engineering branches which need the experience of a chemical engineer to design their process, to operate their factories, and to enhance their production.

د. شيرين محمد سمير كلمة رئيس القسم

قسم الهندسة الكيميائية
هي أحد أفرع الهندسة التي يتم فيها المزج بين العلوم الفيزيائية، الرياضة التطبيقية، والاقتصاد ليتم تصميم، اداره، اصلاح، وتطوير عمليات الإنتاج. التجارب التي تصلح في المعامل وفي النماذج التجريبية المصغرة تحتاج الي الهندسة الكيميائية لتصبح ملائمه لخطوط الإنتاج الكبيرة في المصانع.
المهندس الكيميائي
المهندس الكيميائي مسؤول عن تصميم عمليات الإنتاج من البداية، تصميم الأجهزة المستخدمة فيها، اداره المصانع والتأكد من انها تعمل بأقصى كفاءه ممكنه، وكذلك يقع على عاتقه تطوير أساليب الإنتاج لجعلها اقتصاديه.
مجال البترول والغاز يحتاج الي المهندس الكيميائي للتعامل مع النفط الخام، فيستخلص منه الشوائب، وعن طريق العمليات الكيميائية المختلفة يتم تحويله من صورته الأولية الي منتجات يمكن الاستفادة بها. المهندس الكيميائي له القدرة على تصميم المصانع الخاصة بالتعامل مع النفط والغاز بصوره كامله، وكذلك يعلم الطرق التي يستطيع من خلالها زيادة الأرباح وتقليل استهلاك الطاقة والمادة الخام.
وحدات تحليه المياه هي الأخرى تحتاج الي المهندسين الكيميائيين ليصمموا وحده المعالجة، ويتم توكيل مهام الإدارة والصيانة لهم. محطات تحليه المياه تتدرج من تحليه المياه الجوفية والسطحية الي معالجه مياه الصرف الصحي، والناتج من هذه المحطات يتم استخدامه للزراعة او للاستهلاك الادمي.
هندسه العمليات الخضراء هي إحدى توجهات الهندسة الحديثة، وبها يجب علي المهندس الكيميائي ان يأخذ في الحسبان الضرر الناتج على البيئة من العمليات داخل المصنع، و ان يعمل علي تقليل الضرر البيئي عن طريق اعاده تصميم خط الإنتاج، او عن طريق اختيار ماده خام او مواد كيميائية اخري عن التي تستخدم في عمليه الإنتاج لتقليل الاضرار علي البيئة.
المهندسين الكيميائيين لهم القدرة على العمل في جميع المجالات في العالم، فعلمهم يمكن الاستفادة به في جميع المجالات. الطيران، الهندسة الطبية، الهندسة البيئية، والمصانع الحربية هم بعض الأمثلة للمجالات الأخرى التي تحتاج الي خبره وعلم المهندس الكيميائي ليصمم لهم خطوط الإنتاج، يعمل على تشغيلها، و كذلك يحسن من خواص منجاتهم